Óscar Romero Award Ceremony

Óscar Romero Award Ceremony
Map Unavailable

Date(s) - Jun 30, 2020
6:00 pm CDT - 7:30 pm CDT

Event Sponsor and Host
Rothko Chapel

This is an online event.

This ceremony, honoring three inspiring leaders in the field of climate justice, will feature an invocation from EcoSattva Training contributor Myokei Caine-Barrett, Shonin. Join the gathering online, from anywhere.

From the organizer:

The Rothko Chapel’s biennial Óscar Romero Award has been given every two years since 1987 in recognition of courageous, grassroots human rights advocacy. The award is named in honor of Archbishop Óscar Romero of San Salvador who was assassinated on March 24, 1980, because of his vocal opposition to the violent oppression of his fellow citizens.

Building upon climate change topics addressed at our 2019 Spring Symposium: “Toward a Better Future: Transforming the Climate Crisis,” the Chapel will honor three recipients who are committed to climate justice, and together represent the Chapel’s intersection of art, spirituality and human rights.

2020 Awardees include: Gérman Chirinos, Founder of MASSVIDA (Honduras); Bernadette Demientieff, Executive Director of the Gwich’in Steering Committee (Alaska); and Jorge Díaz, Co-Founder of AgitArte (Puerto Rico).

Learn More

This event is hosted by Rothko Chapel.
For more information, see the event website here.

<< All events listing

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.